Atishaya Bazaar
Site Search
Site Map

Lord Caitanya's Tree of Devotional Service

Click on the image above for descriptons of the many branches
and subbranches in Caitanya Mahaprabhu's devotional tree.

Caitanya-caritamrta, Adi lila
Chapters 9 to 11

"A summary of Chapter Nine has been given as follows by Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura in his Amrta-pravaha-bhasya. In the Ninth Chapter the author of Sri Caitanya-caritamrta has devised a figurative example by describing the "plant of bhakti." He considers Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu, who is known as Visvambhara, to be the gardener of this plant because He is the main personality who has taken charge of it. As the supreme enjoyer, He enjoyed the flowers Himself and distributed them as well. The seed of the plant was first sown in Navadvipa, the birthsite of Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu, and then the plant was brought to Purusottama-ksetra (Jagannatha Puri) and then to Vrndavana. The seed fructified first in Srila Madhavendra Puri and then his disciple Sri Isvara Puri. It is figuratively described that both the tree itself and the trunk of the tree are Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. The devotees, headed by Paramananda Puri and eight other great sannyasis, are like the spreading roots of the tree. From the main trunk there extend two special branches, Advaita Prabhu and Sri Nityananda Prabhu, and from those branches grow other branches and twigs. The tree surrounds the entire world, and the flowers of the tree are to be distributed to everyone. In this way the tree of Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu intoxicates the entire world. It should be noted that this is a figurative example meant to explain the mission of Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu."

Bhaktivedanta Book Trust. HDG A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada.

[Ed. Note: Some text and punctuation has been shortened for use in pop-up boxes on following pages. For errata on numbering sequences and other personalities of mention, click here.]

Lord Caitanya, Transcendental Gardener

Nityananda Prabhu's Branches

Sri Advaita's Branches

Gadadhara Pandit's Branches Tree

Caitanya's Eastern Devotees

Caitanya's Western Devotees

Jagannath Puri & Varnasi Devotees

Lord Caitanya Nityananda's Branch Advaita's Branch Gadadhara's Branch Caitanya's Eastern Devotees Caitanya's Western Devotees Puri and Varnasi