Atishaya Bazaar
Site Search
Site Map

Gadadhara Pandit

The Expansions of Gadadhara Pandita

"After describing the branches and subbranches of Advaita Acarya, I shall now attempt to describe some of the descendants of Sri Gadadhara Pandita, the most important among the branches."

Caitanya-caritamrta, Adi lila, Chapter 12

1. Sri Dhruvananda

2. Sridhara Brahmacari

3. Haridasa Brahmacari

4. Raghunatha Bhagavatacarya

5. Ananta Acarya

6. Kavi Datta

7. Nayana Misra

8. Gangamantri

9. Mamu Thakura

10. Kanthabharana

11. Bhugarbha Gosani

12. Bhagavata dasa

13. Vaninatha Brahmacari

14. Vallabha-caitanya dasa

15. Srinatha Cakravarti

16. Uddhava

17. Jitamitra

18. Jagannatha dasa

19. Sri Hari Acarya

20. Sadipuriya Gopala

21. Krsnadasa Brahmacari

22. Puspagopala

23. Sriharsa

24. Raghu Misra

25. Laksminatha Pandita

26. Bangavati Caitanya dasa

27. Raghunatha

28. Amogha Pandita

29. Hastigopala

30. Caitanya-vallabha

31. Yadu Ganguli

32. Mangala Vaisnava

33. Sivananda Cakravarti

"Thus I have briefly described the branches and subbranches of Gadadhara Pandita. There are still many more that I have not mentioned here. All the followers of Gadadhara Pandita are considered great devotees because they have Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu as their life and soul. Simply by remembering the names of all these branches and subbranches of the three trunks I have described [Nityananda, Advaita and Gadadhara], one attains freedom from the entanglement of material existence. Simply by remembering the names of all these Vaisnavas, one can attain the lotus feet of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. Indeed, simply by remembering their holy names, one achieves the fulfillment of all desires. Therefore, offering my obeisances at the lotus feet of them all, I shall describe the pastimes of the gardener Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu in chronological order. The ocean of the pastimes of Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu is immeasurable and unfathomable. Who can take the courage to measure that great ocean? It is not possible to dip into that great ocean, but its sweet mellow fragrance attracts my mind. I therefore stand on the shore of that ocean to try to taste but a drop of it. Praying at the lotus feet of Sri Rupa and Sri Raghunatha, always desiring their mercy, I, Krsnadasa, narrate Sri Caitanya-caritamrta, following in their footsteps. Thus end the Bhaktivedanta purports to Sri Caitanya-caritamrta, Adi-lila, Twelfth Chapter, describing the expansions of Advaita Acarya and Gadadhara Pandita."

Caitanya-caritamrta, Adi lila, Chapter 12

Bhaktivedanta Book Trust. HDG A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada.