BY: GEMMA K.
Apr 20, 2012 UK (SUN) I have just read the article about sugar and would like to point out that bone char is an issue in the U.S., but not in many other countries. The article is US-centric and seems to assume all readers are in the U.S., but we're not!
Here in the UK bone char is never used, and the only time it is an issue for vegetarians is in some U.S.-imported products. For example, the Oreo cookies made here are vegetarian, but ones specially imported from the U.S. are not, because of the sugar used.
I think it would be useful to make that clear to the readers, as some of them might suddenly be feeling horrified at the thought that they have been eating bone-char sugar when actually, it is extremely unlikely that they have.