Sri Yantra


Sep 12, MAYAPUR, INDIA (SUN) — Sri Yantra repeats the form of the double triangle encircled by a lotus, and held within four walls. It is the symbol of Devi in two forms - Her own form (svarupa) and the form of the universe (visvarupa).

Sri yantra is composed of two sets of triangles and chakras, one within the other, centered upon the bindu. Four triangles pointing upwards represent the Siva element, while the five pointing downwards represent the Sakti element. All are formed by the mula-prakriti (root-sakti) and the vikritas (manifestations) which are considered Prakrti due to their creative power.

The nine chakras also represent sristi (creation), sthiti (maintenance) and samhara (dissolution), with each set of three being formed by combinations thereof. The ultimate object of meditation on Sri yantra is to realize the unit of jivatman (the individual spirit soul) with the divine.

[Shri Shankaracarya], Saundaryalahari, prathamo bhagah, Anandalahari, Text 11:

The angles of your feet are transformed into four [angles] related to Shiva and five [angles] related to Shakti, which are distinct from those of Shiva, and thus into the nine primary forms of matter, as well as into forty-three [angles], eight-petals, sixteen-sides, three-folds and three-lines.

Kaivalyashrama, Saubhagyavardhani, Text 1:

One should make a circle according to one's desire
[i.e. as large as one wants].
One should draw a line from east to west
and divide it into forty-eight parts.

Text 2-3:

One should make nine marks on this:
on the sixth, on the sixth and on the fifth,
on the third and again on the third,
on the fourth and then on the third,
on the sixth, and on the sixth again.
One should extend nine lines on both sides of these marks,
from south to north.

Text 4-5b:

One who is skilled in this
[i.e. who knows the technical terms and drawing process]
should remove fractional parts [from these lines] in order:
on the first, second, and fourth,
then on the fifth and sixth,
and on the eighth and last
agni [three], bana [five], kala [sixteen], purana [eighteen],
sixteen, veda [four], and agni [three].

One who is learned should then join these lines in order:
the ends of ravi [Sun] in the middle of shani [Saturn],

the ends of candra [Moon] in the middle of ketu [descending node],

the ends of mangala [Mars] in the middle of the circle,

the ends of budha [Mercury] in the middle of rahu [desc. n.],

the ends of guru [Jupiter] in the middle of bhauma [Mars],

the ends of shukra [Venus] in the middle of soma [Moon],

the ends of shani [Saturn] in the middle of the circle,

the ends of rahu [ascending node] in the middle of ravi [Sun],

Text 5c-7:

the ends of ketu [desc. n.] in the middle of budha [Mercury].

Text 8:

[Thus] the best shri cakra is formed,
with its center having the form of trembling fire,
with eight and twelve and fourteen lights of fire.

Text 9-10:

Apart from the cakra there are vasu [eight] lotus petals and sixteen leaves;
it is adorned with a triad of circles
and has an earthly house distinguished by three lines.
The dwelling consists of a three-fold road
and is beautifully adorned with four-fold doors;
the cakra is divine, completely splendorous,
consisting of the nature of moon, sun and fire.


| The Sun | News | Editorials | Features | Sun Blogs | Classifieds | Events | Recipes | PodCasts |

| About | Submit an Article | Contact Us | Advertise | |

Copyright 2005, All rights reserved.