The Holy Places of Jaiva Dharma: Vaikuntha


Sri Krsna's Entrace into Dvaraka
Bhaktivedanta Book Trust

Jul 28, 2014 — CANADA (SUN) — A serial presentation of the holy places mentioned in the Jaiva Dharma of Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakur - Part 161.

Following the same approach as our previous segment, we begin with a number of the references in Jaiva Dharma to the kinds of attraction to the Lord that result in one attaining Vaikuntha. This is explained in chapter thirty-one:

    "In Vaikuntha the Lord's opulence is prominent. There Lord Narayanacandra, the king of kings, is served by numberless spiritual opulences. In Vaikuntha the Lord accepts only the svakiya rasa. There Sri, Bhu, Nila and the other wives serve their husband, Lord Narayana. Above Vaikuntha is Goloka. In Vaikuntha the Dvaraka queens serve Krsna according to svakiya rasa. In Goloka the girls of Vraja serve Krsna according to their own rasa."

Vijaya-kumara then asks if all liberated souls are able to see Goloka? The Gosvami replies:

    "Among millions and millions of liberated souls it is hard to find a single devotee of the Supreme Lord. Persons who follow the path of astanga yoga or the path of impersonal speculation may attain liberation, but in that kind of liberation they forget their original spiritual identity in the spiritual world of Vraja. Devotees who are attracted by the Supreme Lord's opulences also cannot see the world of Goloka. Following their hearts, they go to Vaikuntha and there they serve the Supreme Lord in His form of opulence and majesty. Among the devotees who worship Krsna according to the rasas of Vraja, only they who by Lord Krsna's mercy are released from Maya's prison are able to see Goloka."

Again explaining the difference between Goloka Vrindavana and other less superior divine realms like Vaikuntha, in chapter thirty-four we find this statement:

    "When he understands the lesser importance of the Lord's majestic feature in Vaikuntha, the soul can understand the supreme glory of the Lord's eternal and splendid rasas. Then the soul is filled with intense transcendental bliss. Then the dry happiness of impersonalism and the dull pleasures of the material world become very unimportant for him. Then he is filled with a bliss that is perfect and complete."

In chapter nineteen, the character Vrajanath is inquiring from his guru, Prema-dasa Babaji about why devotees are not eager for liberation? He replies:

    "Of the five kinds of liberation - salokya (to live on the same planet as the Lord), sarsti (to have the same opulences as the Lord), samipya (to have constant association with the Lord), sarupya (to obtain the same bodily features as the Lord) and sayujya (to become one with the Lord) - only sayujya is openly opposed to the principles of devotional service. Therefore the devotees of Lord Krsna never accept sayujya (impersonal) liberation. The other four kinds of liberation - salokya, sarsti, samipya, and sarupya - are not openly opposed to the principles of devotional service, but some aspects of them are not helpful for developing devotional service. The devotees of Lord Krsna do not accept these four kinds of liberation when they are manifested in Vaikuntha, the abode of Lord Narayana. In some situations spiritual opulence is prominent in these kinds of liberation, and in other situations loving service is prominent. The devotees reject these kinds of liberation when their final goal is spiritual opulence. In those situations the devotees say, "Talk of liberation should stay far away." The devotees' hearts are attracted only to Lord Krsna. The devotees' hearts are not enchanted by the mercy of Lord Narayana. Why not? Even though Lord Narayana and Lord Krsna are in the end not different from each other, the highest nectar is present only in the form of Lord Krsna."


The Sun News Editorials Features Sun Blogs Classifieds Events Recipes PodCasts

About Submit an Article Contact Us Advertise

Copyright 2005, 2014, All rights reserved.